Biotechnology and biomolecular sciences involve the study and application of living systems, cells, and molecules to develop technologies that advance medicine, agriculture, and industry. Research in this field draws on molecular biology, genetics, microbiology, and bioinformatics.
These listed resources cover peer-reviewed literature, and other resources to help you locate high-quality academic and industry information.
Databases
-
EMBASE This link opens in a new windowThis major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexes international journals in the following relevant fields: drug research, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, and public health.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowWidely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
-
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive resource for chemistry and related disciplines. Produced by the American Chemical Society. 1907+ SciFinder tutorials and guides
-
BIOSIS previews (1926 - 2019) This link opens in a new windowProvides International coverage of the literature of the life sciences, including biology, botany, ecology, zoology, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics and genomics.
Search tips
- Use subject headings when searching PubMed or Embase to increase precision.
- PubMed subject headings are known as MeSH terms (Medical Subject Headings) and Embase subject headings are known as EMTREE.
Additional resources
-
PubChemIncludes chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more.
-
Protein data bank (PDB)Global repository of 3D structural data for proteins, nucleic acids, and macromolecular complexes that are essential for research and education in fundamental biology, health, energy, and biotechnology.
-
UniProtComprehensive resource for protein sequence and functional information, widely used in bioinformatics and molecular biology.
-
EnsemblGenome browser providing access to annotated vertebrate and model organism genomes.
Explore related guides
If your research topic spans several disciplines and you aim to be thorough, it may be helpful to explore related resources from other Subject guides. For research in science, the related guides below may be useful:
Engineering Standards & patents Statistics & datasets More subject guides
Find related books
Check the UNSW Library collection for recent books on:
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation