This section of the guide will direct you to core science databases that provide access to a broad range of research across multiple disciplines. They are an excellent starting point for finding peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and other scholarly content.
Think about your question
- Consider the types of journal articles that would address your research question.
- When you are starting out, be sure to plan your search and try some initial, quick searches to get a feel for your topic.
- Track citations forwards and backwards to follow research conversations and use related articles features to find other relevant papers.
Core databases in science
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature, including peer-reviewed journals and citation index from a wide range of international publishers.
-
Web of science This link opens in a new windowA large multidisciplinary database and citation index with a strong focus on science and technology disciplines. Includes Science citation index 1945+, Social sciences citation index 1956+, Arts & humanities citation index 1975+.
-
ProQuest science & technology databases This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the leading journals in science and technology. Covers hundreds of topics relating to all major fields in the applied and general sciences.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA full-text, multidisciplinary database whose strength is in science, medicine and technology.
-
Informit database collections This link opens in a new windowCollection of authoritative Australasian content including core research and professional resources.
Specialised fields in science
Explore resources related to other fields of science, including:
Interdisciplinary topics
If your research topic spans across several disciplines and you aim to be thorough, it may be helpful to explore resources from other Subject guides. For example:
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation