Find key resources for research in chemistry, materials science, and food science.
These listed resources cover peer-reviewed literature, technical data, and specialised tools to help you locate high-quality academic and industry information.
- Chemistry – resources covering organic, inorganic, analytical, and physical chemistry, including journal literature, reaction databases, and chemical property data.
- Materials science – resources focused on materials engineering, nanotechnology, metallurgy, and polymers, including experimental data and property databases.
- Food science – resources for food chemistry, processing, nutrition, food safety, and sensory evaluation, with a focus on both academic and applied research.
-
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive resource for chemistry and related disciplines. Produced by the American Chemical Society. 1907+ SciFinder tutorials and guides
-
Reaxys This link opens in a new windowAn excellent source for experimentally validated reactions and substance data. The synthesis planner assists with the evaluation of alternative synthetic methods for the preparation of compounds and allows chemists to identify and combine selected reaction steps. Incorporates Beilstein & Gmelin. Reaxys tutorials and guides
-
Organic syntheses This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of detailed experimental methods for the synthesis of organic compounds
-
SpringerMaterials (Landolt-Börnstein) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to numerical and graphical data on the properties of materials
from the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and other integrated resources.
-
PubChemIncludes chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more.
-
ChemSpiderOver 100 million chemical structures from the Royal Society of Chemistry, with spectra, property data, and literature links for synthesis and analysis.
-
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive resource for chemistry and related disciplines. Produced by the American Chemical Society. 1907+ SciFinder tutorials and guides
-
Reaxys This link opens in a new windowAn excellent source for experimentally validated reactions and substance data. The synthesis planner assists with the evaluation of alternative synthetic methods for the preparation of compounds and allows chemists to identify and combine selected reaction steps. Incorporates Beilstein & Gmelin. Reaxys tutorials and guides
-
MRS proceedings This link opens in a new windowOnline searchable database of the Materials Research Society symposia. Contains the full text of peer-reviewed papers presented at the Materials Research Society (MRS) symposia.
-
SpringerMaterials (Landolt-Börnstein) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to numerical and graphical data on the properties of materials
from the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and other integrated resources. -
ISO : IEC : ASTM : API : ACI standards (via Engineering Workbench) This link opens in a new windowAccess full text access to International Standards - ISO; International Electrotechnical Commission Standards - IEC; American Society for Testing and Materials - ASTM; American Petroleum - API; American Concrete Institute - ACI (Redline standards compare changes between an active ASTM standard and its previous version.)
-
SAE Mobilus - technical papers This link opens in a new windowReferences thousands of SAE Technical Papers (full text availability from 1906) and SAE Standards (bibliographic references only, not full text).
-
MatWebDatabase of material properties for metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites, with searchable datasheets for mechanical, thermal, and electrical performance.
-
ASM materials resources This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of authoritative materials information from ASM International, covering metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. Widely used for materials selection, performance evaluation, and troubleshooting in industry and research.
-
CINAHL: cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is the definitive reference tool covering journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes nutrition and dietetics literature.
-
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive resource for chemistry and related disciplines. Produced by the American Chemical Society. 1907+ SciFinder tutorials and guides
-
CAB reviews This link opens in a new windowProvides access to CAB Reviews for perspectives in nutrition and animal science, as well as the open access publications included in CAB Direct.
-
Australian food composition databaseOfficial nutrient data for Australian foods, including both generic and branded products, maintained by Food Standards Australia New Zealand.
-
USDA FoodData centralU.S. government nutrient database covering thousands of foods with links to agricultural and health research.
-
FAO food composition databaseInternational food composition data for comparative, nutritional, and policy research, compiled by the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization.
Explore related guides
If your research topic spans several disciplines and you aim to be thorough, it may be helpful to explore related resources from other Subject guides. For research in science, the related guides below may be useful:
Engineering Standards & patents Statistics & datasets More subject guides
Find related books
Check the UNSW Library collection for books on:
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation