Skip to main content

ELISE | Informing your studies tutorial: Understanding your course resources

Quiz

Quiz question There may be a quiz question related to the information on this page.

Where are my course resources?

Your lecturer will provide you with a link to your course resources in Moodle:

  • link to online items directly from the list of course resources
  • come to the Library to find print items
  • use the item number to find the item on Library shelves

Tip the item number tells you where print copies are located, e.g.

  Available at Level 9, Main Library (658.4/2)

  Available at High Use Collection, Main Library (363.738/37)

Using my course resource list

Your list of course resources has been created online by your lecturer and is accessible on any device. You can comment on readings, make recommendations and build a personal collection of materials.

This list is on a system called Leganto. Using it you can:

Add items

  • from your course lists to your personal collection
  • from the Library collection
  • from the internet when you add the Cite it! button to your browser
  • from a RefWorks or Zotero account

Collaborate

  • like your favourite resources
  • discuss items with your classmates and lecturers
  • make recommendations

Get help

Recognising citations

Your courses will usually have lists of course resources that are compiled by your lecturers. They provide you with introductory information required for the course.
Learning to recognise the different types of resources that are included on your list of course resources will make finding them easier:

Books

Academic or scholarly books provide in-depth coverage of a topic. They are:

  • written for an academic audience including university students
  • can often be recognised by their extensive footnoting and referencing
  • may not provide up-to-date information on a topic

For current information on a topic, journal articles may include more recent research.

Book chapters

Some books are made up of a collection of chapter or articles, each written by a different author, and usually compiled by an editor.

Your list of course resources may include a reference to a particular chapter in a book. See the list of course resources below.

Journal articles

Academic journals are important because they publish the results of current research on very specialised topics.

Scholarly journals are published for an academic audience:

  • they are often peer-reviewed
  • they often contain articles on very specific subjects, and
  • may be the primary source of information on new developments

Journals are likely to be more up-to-date and relevant to current issues. Books generally take longer to be published.

Journals are also called magazines, periodicals or serials. They are published on a recurring basis.

Reports

A report may be produced by a government body, a private organisation or it may be a working paper on a topic.

Conference papers

Papers presented at a conference or seminar are collectively known as conference proceedings.

A conference paper could be published in a collection of conference proceedings or as an individual publication. See the list of course resources below.

Course resources

Tip Roll your mouse over this example of a list of course resources to see the different elements of each citation:
   (Citations are in APA 6th style)

 

Text version

Close X

Book

 

Barnosky, A. D.      

Author    

2016 Publication year                                       
Tipping point for planet earth : how close are we to the edge?                                           Title of book
New York, N.Y. Place of publication                        
Saint Martin's Press.    Publisher                         

Ebook

 

McLeman, R. A.      

Author          

2016 Publication year                         
Environmental migration and social inequality                          Title of book
doi:101007/978-3-319-25796-9 Digital object identifier                         
 

Book chapter

 

McHughen, A.

Author of the chapter
Fighting Mother Nature with biotechnology Title of the chapter
2016 Publication year
In Indicates a chapter 'in' a book
R. Herring Book editor
Ed. Editor     
The Oxford handbook of food, politics, and society Book title
1st ed. Edition
New York Place of publication
Oxford University Press
   

Journal article

                                                                  

Oosthoek, S.                                                                                                         

Article author                                                             
2016 Publication year
Murky waters Article title
New Scientist Journal title
229 Volume number
3055 Issue number
34-35 Page numbers

eJournal article

                                                                  

Liston, G., Perham, C., Shideler, R., & Cheuvront, A                                                           

Article authors     
2016 Publication year
Modeling snowdrift habitat for polar bear dens                                   Article title
Ecological Modelling eJournal title
320 Volume number                        
114-134 Page numbers
doi:10.1016/j.ecolmodel.2015.09.010 Digital object identifier
 

Conference paper                                                                                                       

                                                                 

Lach, D., Cushing, J.

Authors
2015 Year of publication
Engaging researchers and decision makers to develop usable climate information  Conference paper title
16th Annual International Conference on Digital Government Research Conference title
27-30 May 2015 Conference dates
pp. 301-303 Page numbers
doi:10.1145/2757401.2757445 Digital object identifier    
   

Technical report

                                                                 

May, A.

Author
[et al.] Indicates other authors
2016 Year of publication
Biological data on cod from the summer fishery on the north shore Strait of Belle Isle                                                                                                  Title
Technical Report (Fisheries Research Board of Canada) Report series title
no. 27 Report number
Ottawa Place of publication
Fisheries and Oceans Canada Publisher

(Citations are in APA 6th style)

 

Format Citation example Identifying features
Books Barnosky, A. D. (2016). Tipping point for planet Earth: how close are we to the edge? New York, N.Y. : Saint Martin's Press.
  • place of publication
  • publisher
Ebooks McLeman, R. A. (2016). Environmental migration and social inequality.  doi:10.1007/978-3-319-25796-9
  • doi or digital object identifier - a unique alphanumeric string which provides a persistent link to the book
Book chapters McHughen, A. (2016). Fighting Mother Nature with biotechnology. In R. Herring (ed.), The Oxford handbook of food, politics, and society (1st ed.). New York: Oxford University Press.
  • usually compiled by an editor
  • chapters are written by different authors
  • 'in' indicates a citation for a book chapter
Journal articles Oosthoek, S. (2016). Murky waters. New Scientist, 229(3055), 34-35.
  • volume number, issue number or date
  • page numbers of article
Ejournal articles Liston, G., Perham, C. Shideler, R., & Cheuvront, A. (2016). Modeling snowdrift habitat for polar bear dens.  Ecological Modelling, 320,114-134. doi:10.1016/j.ecolmodel.2015.09.010
  • doi or digital object identifier - a unique alphanumeric string which provides a persistent link to the article
Conference papers Lach, D., Cushing, J. (2015). Engaging researchers and decision makers to develop usable climate information. Paper presented at the 16th Annual International Conference on Digital Government Research, 27-30 May, 2015, (pp. 301-303). doi:10.1145/2757401.2757445
  • includes words like conference, proceedings, symposium, congress, papers presented at, etc
Technical reports May, A. (2016).Biological data on cod from the summer fishery on the north shore Strait of Belle Isle. Technical report (Fisheries Research Board of Canada), no. 27. Ottawa: Fisheries and Oceans Canada.
  • includes report title and report series title and number