Skip to main content

Publishing strategy guide

Tools to help you plan your publishing strategy

Collaborators 

ACM SIGGRAPH
Good for finding collaborators associated with computer graphics
 Design and Art Australia Online
Good for finding Australian artists and designers
 UNSW Art & Design
Useful for finding collaborators and research groups at UNSW

Funding

 ArtsHub
Information on government and non-government grants within the arts
 Australian Council for the Arts
Useful source for finding funding opportunities for art and design supported by the Australian Government
Copyright Agency Cultural Fund
Provides information on the Cultural Fund for creative works
Create NSW
Good for finding funding opportunities within arts and culture in NSW
ScreenHub
Source of information for grants specifically for film and television in Australia
Screen NSW
Provides information on funding for screen based projects in NSW

Journals

Arts Council England
Information on academic journals with a focus on arts and culture
JSTOR Text Analyzer
This tool analyses user inputted text to find key topics and terms and then suggest potential journals
MLA international bibliography
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts and the historical aspects of printing and publishing

Collaborators

 School of Education Partnerships
Good for finding information on education partnerships
 School of Social Science Community Engagement
Useful source for finding information on partnerships and collaborations within the School of Social Science
 Social Science Research Network
Good for finding articles, research and collaborators for many social science disciplines 
 UNSW Arts and Social Sciences
Good for finding collaborators and research groups within UNSW

 UNSW Arts and Social Sciences Research Networks
Good for finding UNSW affiliated research networks

Funding

Copyright Agency Cultural Fund
Provides information on the Cultural Fund for creative works
Create NSW
Good for finding funding opportunities within arts and culture in NSW

UNSW Arts and Social Sciences Funding
Good for finding funding opportunities within Arts and Social Sciences

Journals

Journal citation reports: JCR
This tool can show you the: highest impact journal; most frequently used journals; hottest journals. Contains two editions: JCR Science and JCR Social Science
Journal Finder (Elsevier)
Journal Finder is a tool that helps to find journals that could be best suited for publishing a scientific article
JSTOR Text Analyzer
This tool analyses user inputted text to find key topics and terms and then suggest potential journals.
MLA international bibliography
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts and the historical aspects of printing and publishing
Scopus journal analyzer
Allows you to compare up to 10 journals in a specific field. The results are uploaded into graphs, making it easy to see how journals are performing relative to each other

Conferences

Humanities and Social Sciences Online
Source of information for humanities and social sciences events and conferences
Times Higher Education summit series
A resource reporting on news and events related to higher education including summits

Collaborators

  UNSW Built Environment
Good for finding UNSW research partners in government and industry 

Journals
Journal citation reports: JCR
This tool can show you the: highest impact journal; most frequently used journals; hottest journals. Contains two editions: JCR Science and JCR Social Science
Journal Finder (Elsevier)
Journal Finder is a tool that helps to find journals that could be best suited for publishing a scientific article.
JSTOR Text Analyzer
This tool analyses user inputted text to find key topics and terms and then suggest potential journals.
Scopus journal analyzer
Allows you to compare up to 10 journals in a specific field. The results are uploaded into graphs, making it easy to see how journals are performing relative to each other>

Conferences

Informa Connect Conferences
A directory of Informa Connect Australia conferences across multiple disciplines

Collaborators

 UNSW Business School
Good for finding industry partnerships
 UNSW BizLab
Good for finding research partnerships within UNSW

Journals

Cabell's directories of publishing opportunities: database of academic journals
This tool describes the review process by the editor; the type of review; number of reviewers; acceptance rate; time required for review; availability of reviewer’s comments; and the number of copies required and manuscript topics."
Financial Times Research Rank
Tool for finding journals used in Financial Times Rank
Journal citation reports: JCR
This tool can show you the: highest impact journal; most frequently used journals; hottest journals. Contains two editions: JCR Science and JCR Social Science
Journal Finder (Elsevier)
Journal Finder is a tool that helps to find journals that could be best suited for publishing a scientific article.
Scopus journal analyzer
Allows you to compare up to 10 journals in a specific field. The results are uploaded into graphs, making it easy to see how journals are performing relative to each other
UNSW Business School
Useful tool for locating UNSW Business School affiliated journals.

Conferences

Informa Connect Conferences
A directory of Informa Connect Australia conferences across multiple disciplines

 

Collaborators

School of Chemical Engineering Partnerships
Good for finding industry partnerships
School of Civil and Environmental Engineering Partnerships
Good for finding industry partnerships
School of Electrical Engineering Partnerships
Good for finding industry partnerships
UNSW Engineering
Good for finding partnerships within UNSW

Journals

Journal citation reports: JCR
This tool can show you the: highest impact journal; most frequently used journals; hottest journals. Contains two editions: JCR Science and JCR Social Science
Journal Finder (Elsevier)
Journal Finder is a tool that helps to find journals that could be best suited for publishing a scientific article.
IEEE Journals
Useful tool for finding IEEE Journals 
Scopus journal analyzer
Allows you to compare up to 10 journals in a specific field. The results are uploaded into graphs, making it easy to see how journals are performing relative to each other
Web of Science Journals
A tool for understanding the selection process for Web of Science indexed journals

Conferences

ATRF: Australasian Transport Research Forum
Provides information on upcoming ATRF conferences and papers from previous events
IEEE: Conferences
A guide to IEEE conferences and events worldwide
ICE: Institution of Civil Engineers (UK)
Provides information on civil engineering conferences and events both online and in person
IAH: International Association of Hydrogeologists
Provides information on IAH conferences and events around the world
PIANC: Permanent International Association of Navigational Congresses
Guideline to PIANC conferences in the Australasian region
SPIE: International Society for Optics and Photonics
Provides information on upcoming SPIE conferences, exhibitions and events worldwide
WikiCFP
A database of papers from science and technology conferences and events.

Collaborators

Criminal Justice Research Network
Source of information on research articles and collaborators within the criminal justice field
UNSW Law
Good for finding UNSW Law affiliated research centres and groups

Journals

AGIS Plus Text
Tool for finding law journals
JSTOR Text Analyzer
This tool analyses user inputted text to find key topics and terms and then suggest potential journals.
Hein Online
Source of law journals from USA and Canada
Lexis Advance
This tool offers a collection of Australian legal journals through the Lexis Advance platform
Westlaw AU
This tool offers a collection of Australian legal journals through the Westlaw platform>

Conferences

Informa Connect Conferences
A directory of Informa Connect Australia conferences across multiple disciplines

Thomson Reuters Legal Events
A guide of Thomson Reuters legal events and conferences in Australia

Collaborators

Matchmaker from NIH RePORTER
Useful source for finding collaborators and related projects for medicine (USA)
 UNSW Medicine
Good for finding partnerships within UNSW and beyond

Journals
Journal citation reports: JCR
This tool can show you the: highest impact journal; most frequently used journals; hottest journals. Contains two editions: JCR Science and JCR Social Science
Journal Finder (Elsevier)
Journal Finder is a tool that helps to find journals that could be best suited for publishing a scientific article.
Journal/author name estimator (JANE)
A tool that looks for similar articles in PubMed and suggests journal titles to pitch an article at.
PubsHub journals & congresses
A repository of information covering medical journals, congresses and associations.
Scopus journal analyzer
Allows you to compare up to 10 journals in a specific field. The results are uploaded into graphs, making it easy to see how journals are performing relative to each other
Web of Science Journals
A tool for understanding the selection process for Web of Science indexed journals

Conferences

Informa Connect Conferences
A directory of Informa Connect Australia conferences across multiple disciplines
PubsHub journals & congresses
A repository of information covering medical journals, congresses and associations

Collaborators

School of Chemistry Partnerships
Good for finding industry partnerships
School of Mathematics Partnerships
Good for finding industry partnerships
UNSW Science
Good for finding research centres within UNSW Science
UNSW Science Partnerships
Good for finding industry partnerships

Journals

Journal citation reports: JCR
This tool can show you the: highest impact journal; most frequently used journals; hottest journals. Contains two editions: JCR Science and JCR Social Science
Journal/author name estimator (JANE)
A tool that looks for similar articles in PubMed and suggests journal titles to pitch an article at.
Journal Finder (Elsevier)
Journal Finder is a tool that helps to find journals that could be best suited for publishing a scientific article.
JSTOR Text Analyzer
This tool analyses user inputted text to find key topics and terms and then suggest potential journals.
Scopus journal analyzer
Allows you to compare up to 10 journals in a specific field. The results are uploaded into graphs, making it easy to see how journals are performing relative to each other>
Web of Science Journals
A tool for understanding the selection process for Web of Science indexed journals

Conferences

COMS: Conference Management Software
Provides information on scientific, medical and academic events and conferences
Informa Connect Conferences
A directory of Informa Connect Australia conferences across multiple disciplines
WikiCFP
Useful database of papers from science and technology conferences and events