Skip to Main Content

Collection updates

The objective of this resource is to inform the UNSW community of changes to the library collection and transformative agreements the University is piloting from 2022.

About this page

Collection news lists newly subscribed or purchased content for 2022, as well as changes to the Library Collection. It will be updated as changes are made throughout the year. All content is listed by faculty.

Collection news

New to the collection

Artforum International Magazine

UNSW now has access to the ProQuest Artforum magazine archive, which includes all issues published 1962-2020.

Artforum has published essays, interviews and reviews about international contemporary art in all its forms for over sixty years.

Adam Matthew Digital

UNSW now has access to additional new archives from Adam Matthew Digital:

Beamafilm

Beginning September the Library has access to the full collection of Beamafilm resources.

Beamafilm is an Australian-owned streaming service featuring international cinema and a curated catalogue of almost 30% Australasian material.

Bloomsbury History: Theory and Method

The Bloomsbury History: Theory and Method database is now available in the Library Collection.

Unique in its focus on global perspectives on historiography, this collection includes scholarly articles, eBooks, critical reference works and an interactive timeline that visualises the chronological relationships between key events and ideas.

Brill 2022 eBook collections

The following 2022 editions have been added to the collection:

  • Educational Research eBooks 2022

Gale Primary Sources archives

The following archival collections have been added to the Gale Primary Sources database for 2022:

Archives containing monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs and maps from a wide range of locations and times. Much of the content is hard to find and has been digitised specifically for the archives.

Knovel eBooks

UNSW has access to the following subject areas in the Knovel collection in 2022:

  • Textiles (100+ eBooks and other resources)

Macquarie Dictionary

UNSW has re-subscribed to the Macquarie Dictionary.

Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks

The following eBook collections have been added to Oxford Scholarship Online for 2022:

  • History
  • Philosophy
  • Sociology

Past Masters eBooks

49 new eBooks have been added to the Past Masters collection for 2022.

Full-text editions of seminal works in political theory, sociology, religious studies and the history and philosophy of science, as well as classic literature in English and other languages.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Australian collection

The following historical newspapers will be available via ProQuest in 2022:

Please note that some exceptions apply to this coverage, details of which may be found in the publication landing pages in ProQuest.

Style

The journal Style is now available via Project Muse.

Quarterly journal addressing style, stylistics, and poetics from contributors in the fields of literary criticism, critical theory, computational linguistics, cognitive linguistics, philosophy of language and rhetoric and writing studies.

New to the collection

Business Expert Press eBooks

Business Expert Press eBooks from 2010-2021 are now available.

Connect 4 Boardroom

Access is now available to Connect 4 Boardroom.

Boardroom is a module of the Connect 4 resource and consists of a database of directors and senior executives of ASX listed companies.

Gale Primary Sources archives

The following archival collection has been added to the Gale Primary Sources database for 2022:

  • The Economist Historical Archive: 2016-2020 Update

Archives containing monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs and maps from a wide range of locations and times. Much of the content is hard to find and has been digitised specifically for the archives.

Macquarie Dictionary

UNSW has re-subscribed to the Macquarie Dictionary.

Springer Nature eBooks

The Library has acquired the following 2021 Springer eBook collection for 2022:

  • Business and Management (521 titles)
No longer available

Cabell's Scholarly Analytics

Cabell's Scholarly Analytics is no longer available in 2022.

Alternative resources:

Checkpoint

The Checkpoint database is no longer available in 2022.

New to the collection

American Chemical Society eBooks

eBooks published 2019-2022 by the American Chemical Society have been added to the Library Collection in 2022.

Electrochemical Society (ECS) journals

UNSW has access to an archive of ECS journals published 1930-2020 via the ECS Digital Library in 2022.

GeoRef

UNSW has re-subscribed to the GeoRef database in 2022.

Comprehensive bibliographic database containing over 4.2 million references to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses in the geosciences.

GeoScienceWorld eBooks

GeoScienceWorld eBooks published 2017-2021 have been added to the Library Collection.

Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) eBooks

eBooks published 2016-2021 by the IET have been added to the Library Collection in 2022 (325 titles).

Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals

The IET journal archive 1872-2012 has been added to the Library Collection in 2022 (145,000+ articles).

International Water Association (IWA) eBooks

eBooks published 2019-2021 by IWA Publishing have been added to the Library Collection in 2022.

Knovel eBooks

UNSW has access to the following subject areas in the Knovel collection in 2022:

  • Aerospace & Radar Technology (650+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Chemistry & Chemical Engineering (900+ eBooks and other resources)
  • General Engineering & Project Administration (1,000+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Marine Engineering & Naval Architecture (200+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering (950+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Oil & Gas Engineering (850+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Sustainable Energy & Development (550+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Textiles (100+ eBooks and other resources)

SPIE (International Society for Optics and Photonics) Digital Library

New content has been added to the SPIE Digital Library for 2022 (3,100+ resources).

Springer Nature eBooks

The Library has acquired the following 2021 Springer eBook collections for 2022:

  • Earth and Environmental Science (563 titles)
  • Energy (161 titles)
  • Mathematics and Statistics (525 titles)
New to the collection

Brill 2022 eBook collections

The following 2022 editions have been added to the collection:

  • Human Rights and Humanitarian Law eBook Collection, 2022
  • International Law eBook Collection, 2022

Gale Primary Sources archives

The following archival collection has been added to the Gale Primary Sources database for 2022:

  • Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals 12, 1890-1950

Archives containing monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs and maps from a wide range of locations and times. Much of the content is hard to find and has been digitised specifically for the archives.

LexisNexis

UNSW has re-subscribed to the following Lexis Advance products for 2022:

The following Lexis Advance products are new for 2022:

Macquarie Dictionary

UNSW has re-subscribed to the Macquarie Dictionary.

Change in access

LexisNexis

UNSW will have access to the following Lexis Advance products in 2022:

  • Commentaries: Australian Corporation Law Principles & Practice, Australian Family Law, Australian Tenancy Law & Practice, Carter on Contract, Communications Law & Policy in Australia, Conveyancing Service NSW, Copyright & Designs, Criminal Practice & Procedure NSW, Cross on Evidence, Ford, Austin & Ramsay's Principles of Corporations Law, Local Government Planning and Environment NSW Vols A, B, C, D, Mason and Handler Succession Law and Practice NSW, Native Title (Service + Newsletter), Patents, Trade Marks & Related Rights, Kelly & Ball Principles of Insurance Law, Statutory Interpretation in Australia 9ed 2019, Civil Procedures Vic, Practice & Procedure High Court & Federal Court of Australia, Ritchie's Uniform Civil Procedure NSW
  • Journals: Australian Bar Review; Australian Journal of Corporate Law; Australian Journal of Family Law; Australian Journal of Labour Law; Australian Property Law Journal; Competition & Consumer Law Journal; Insurance Law Journal; Journal of Contract Law; Journal of Equity; Media & Arts Law Review; Torts Law Journal
  • Practical Guidance (various)

Westlaw Australia

For 2022 Westlaw AU has transitioned to New Westlaw. UNSW will have access to the following on New Westlaw:

  • Authorised Law Reports: Commonwealth; Federal; Australian Capital Territory; New South Wales; Northern Territory; Queensland; South Australia; Tasmania; Victoria
  • The following 19 Practice Areas: Administrative Law; Banking & Financial Services; Bankruptcy & Insolvency; Building & Construction; Commercial & Contract; Competition & Consumer Law; Corporations; Court Practice & Procedure ; Criminal Law; Employment & HR ; Evidence; Family Law; Intellectual Property & Technology; Local Government & Planning; Media & Privacy; Personal Injury & Accident Compensation; Property; Wills, Succession, Trusts & Equity
No longer available

Selected online looseleafs

The following online looseleafs will no longer be available:

  • Constitutional Remedies in Canada
  • Hogg Constitutional Law of Canada
  • Law of Fraud and Related Offences
New to the collection

Anatomedia

UNSW has added the Anatomedia database to the Library Collection in 2022.

Interactive anatomy resource developed over more than twenty years by a multidisciplinary team of experts based at the University of Melbourne. Anatomedia combines dissections, diagrams, video, 3D modelling and clinical notes to bring specimens to students beyond the physical lab.

BMJ Best Practice content enhancements

BMJ Best Practice now includes two major content enhancements:

  • Access to drug and dosage information from the Renal Drug Handbook. This is presented in the form of PDFs within the treatment algorithm for users who select Chronic Kidney Disease as a comorbidity and;
  • Over 5,000 integrated case reports from BMJ Case Reports providing quick access to information and guidance on rare diseases and uncommon presentations.

British Pharmacopoeia

The Library will soon have access to the British Pharmacopoeia (BP).

BP is a six-volume leading reference tool for medicines and healthcare research & development and contains an extensive collection of authoritative official standards for UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products.

MedicinesComplete

The Library has access to MedicinesComplete commencing in October.

This resource is produced by the UK Royal Pharmaceutical Society and is widely considered the definitive online resource for drug information. The Library’s access is to the complete package including the British National Formulary, Martindale, and Stockley’s Drug Interactions as well as 15 specialist resources for pharmacists.

Springer Nature eBooks

The Library has acquired the following 2021 Springer eBook collection for 2022:

  • Medicine (856 titles)

Thieme Clinical eBooks

eBooks published 2020-2021 have been added to the Thieme Clinical eBook Collection in 2022.

Change in access

Journal of Pain

UNSW now has restored access to the Journal of Pain.

Access was temporarily paused whilst the publisher was changing their mode of online delivery.

No longer available

JCO Digital Library

UNSW will no longer have access to the JCO Digital Library in 2022.

The JCO Digital Library includes the following journals:

  • Journal of Clinical Oncology
  • JCO Oncology Practice
  • JCO Global Oncology
  • JCO Clinical Cancer Informatics
  • JCO Precision Oncology

Thieme Chemistry package

UNSW will no longer have access to the following journals:

  • Pharmacopsychiatry
  • Planta Medica
  • Synfacts
  • Synlett
  • Synthesis
  • Thieme International Journal of Sports Medicine
New to the collection

American Chemical Society eBooks

eBooks published 2019-2022 by the American Chemical Society have been added to the Library Collection in 2022.

Anatomedia

UNSW has added the Anatomedia database to the Library Collection in 2022.

Interactive anatomy resource developed over more than twenty years by a multidisciplinary team of experts based at the University of Melbourne. Anatomedia combines dissections, diagrams, video, 3D modelling and clinical notes to bring specimens to students beyond the physical lab.

Duke Mathematical Journal

UNSW has re-subscribed to the Duke Mathematical Journal in 2022.

Electrochemical Society (ECS) journals

UNSW has access to an archive of ECS journals published 1930-2020 via the ECS Digital Library in 2022.

GeoRef

UNSW has re-subscribed to the GeoRef database in 2022.

Comprehensive bibliographic database containing over 4.2 million references to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses in the geosciences.

GeoScienceWorld eBooks

GeoScienceWorld eBooks published 2017-2021 have been added to the Library Collection.

Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) eBooks

eBooks published 2016-2021 by the IET have been added to the Library Collection in 2022 (325 titles).

Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals

The IET journal archive 1872-2012 has been added to the Library Collection in 2022 (145,000+ articles).

International Water Association (IWA) eBooks

eBooks published 2019-2021 by IWA Publishing have been added to the Library Collection in 2022.

Knovel eBooks

UNSW has access to the following subject areas in the Knovel collection in 2022:

  • Aerospace & Radar Technology (650+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Chemistry & Chemical Engineering (900+ eBooks and other resources)
  • General Engineering & Project Administration (1,000+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Marine Engineering & Naval Architecture (200+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering (950+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Oil & Gas Engineering (850+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Sustainable Energy & Development (550+ eBooks and other resources)
  • Textiles (100+ eBooks and other resources)

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) eBooks

The 2022 SIAM eBook collection has been added to the Library Collection.

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) journals

UNSW has re-subscribed to the following SIAM journals in 2022:

SPIE (International Society for Optics and Photonics) Digital Library

New content has been added to the SPIE Digital Library for 2022 (3,100+ resources).

Springer Nature eBooks

The Library has acquired the following 2021 Springer eBook collections for 2022:

  • Earth and Environmental Science (563 titles)
  • Energy (161 titles)
  • Mathematics and Statistics (525 titles)
  • Medicine (856 titles)

Thieme Science of Synthesis

The Library has recently acquired the Thieme 2022 updated reference and knowledge volumes (16 in total) that provide the source content for Science of Synthesis.

The full Science of Synthesis database (including pre-2022 content) will become available from January 2023.

Thieme is a major European publisher of medical and chemistry journals and eBooks in German and English.

No longer available

Thieme Chemistry package

UNSW will no longer have access to the following journals:

  • Pharmacopsychiatry
  • Planta Medica
  • Synfacts
  • Synlett
  • Synthesis
  • Thieme International Journal of Sports Medicine